I’ve read there was actually a point to having a horn on automobiles a couple of centuries ago. But like many ideas from that far back, this is one that seems to have outlived its usefulness. Nevertheless the modern lack of etiquette (i.e. common courtesy) demonstrated in the standard use of these electronic klaxon devices is, to my thinking, representative of - or a significant contributing factor to - many of society’s ills. (After all, what level comes next in life's game when honking a horn is your idea of stress relief - ARMED ROAD RAGE?)
I don’t even remember the last time I actually honked a car horn, but it definitely wasn't intended and hasn’t been perpetrated on my present vehicle…or the one before that, either. I’m not even sure I know where they mount horn buttons on cars any more. Are they still in the center of a steering wheel?
Living in a major metropolitan area means I hear auto horns way, way, way too much. My opinion is that only the most insipid of imbeciles would even resort to touching one of these, especially in this environment, in the first place. (I'm convinced this is how cooties get spread, and even if it isn't, I couldn’t care less what another yokel's impression is of my derelict driving techniques.) Plus, I also want to know what buffoon thought using horns as alarm devices to scare off anybody was an idea whose time had come? As such, I long, long, long ago began paying little to no attention to honking horns at all. I hardly think I'm alone in this opinion, so what good are they anyway? And have you noticed any correlation among pick-up truck driver’s having a particularly noteworthy abusive tactile love affair with these horrendous devices?
Furthermore, I’ve also lived in rural regions where when you heard a car’s horn it meant somebody you knew was waving at you through a windshield. When I lived in a mountainous region of South America the rule of thumb was if your brakes and your horn both went out on your car at the same time you’d have to get your horn fixed first…mainly because nobody there used headlights at night – it was a weird culture. But, in that same part of the world, it was also humanly impossible to make any move forward after a stop light changed without everyone behind you laying into their horns. I'm not at all sure there a point to any of that either...but it always happened.
Oh please, now I’m no proponent for any stricter legislation regarding using a car’s horn. After all people where I live don’t even observe speed limits. (This may very well have a direct correlation in an increase of horn honking enthusiasts, but I can't say that for certain.) No, I’d just as soon horns became an incredibly expensive add-on option in the purchase of a vehicle - if you could even get one at all. Maybe people would think twice then as to whether they really needed to have one at all, but some people just have more money than they know what to do with. But, by all means, horns must cease being included as standard equipment. And finally, why should any of these new fangled, environmentally and fuel friendly contraptions promised for the future come equipped with one of those noise polluting pieces of paraphernalia?
Got thoughts?
Ever yours regardlessly,
mike
Friday, March 14, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment